Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

To bundle or not? How to choose new products.

by lappelba / November 13, 2007 12:17 AM PST

My Inspiron E1405 laptop is 1 year old and my subscriptions purchsed from Dell are now expired. I run Windows XP. I was a pro but now consider myself a bit of a novice-able to understand but not current in knowledge.

Dell recommends to bundle and get firewall, antivirus, antispy, etc. all from one package. They recommend McAfee 2008 VirusScan Plus. I like the idea of purchasing only one package but want good tech support too-and ability to phone free if possible.

I want to know if it makes sense to buy a bundle or if it's better to purchase or get freeware for each product separately. I am online a lot and want to limit problems. But I am a hobbyist, not a pro and would like low cost if possible.

I was considering a suite by Webroot or McAfee but reviews look poor. Also a few friends rec. CNET for reviews, Spybot (free), Norton's Avast.

My subscriptions running out are: Webroot Spy Sweeper, PC-cillan Internet Security 14, Norton Ghost, and PC-cillan or Windows Firewall. My DSL provider Qwest has a free bundle of Live1Care but I may not be a Qwest customer for long (fingers crossed).

thank you for any support and info

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: To bundle or not? How to choose new products.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.