Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

To build or not to build?

by JCS007 / April 11, 2006 1:09 PM PDT

Is it better to build a computer or simply buy one?

I know CNet has stuff on whether to build a computer or not, but I am still not convinced as to whether I should do so. SO, I was wondering if anyone has any advice.

First of all, let me say that I have never built a computer before. I cannot say if it will be hard or not. Anyone have any advice?

Second, money is an issue. Is it cheaper to buy a computer or build a pretty basic one and upgrade it as technology evolves and my budget increases?

Third, is it worth the time and effort that I put into it. Now keep in mind, I have never built one before, so I do not know how long it will take.

So there you have it: the question of whether to build or not to build. Thanks for any future input.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: To build or not to build?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: To build or not to build?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.