Windows Legacy OS

General discussion

TIME TO STOP WINDOWS XP UPDATES?

by patenter123 / November 11, 2011 6:50 PM PST

I've seen so many semi-dysfunctional XP updates over the past months -- including one that TOTALLY hosed one computer and required a complete restore from an earlier date -- that I want to raise the Q of whether it's time to stop adding any more XP updates.
The bottom line/sad fact is that Microsoft has powerful financial motivations to drive as many people as possible, to Windows 7. So, what better way to do that, than to begin a gradual process of assigning less and less skilled programmers, to prepare updates for the no-longer-wanted old version? As more and more not-so-good updates make XP slower and more crippled, more and more people will simply give up, and buy the newer version.
Agree?
Disagree?
BTW, I'm an engineer and patent attorney, working with computers more than 35 years. And I've seen how companies really and truly are driven by profit motives and profit margins, rather than any sentimental desires to keep customers happy, or to keep older systems running when new ones make more profits.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: TIME TO STOP WINDOWS XP UPDATES?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: TIME TO STOP WINDOWS XP UPDATES?