Mac OS forum

time machine: old mac to new mac. how to?

by richard19223 / November 9, 2012 2:23 AM PST

I am buying a new Mac mini and want to get it running just like my old MacBook Pro. I make backups using Time Machine to an external hd.

I can't quite get my head around how to transfer/migrate my old mac to the new one with my Time Machine backup.

I get how to recuperate files, photos, etc. but can't quite see how to copy everything to my new machine.

I am running the latest Mountain Lion.

I would really appreciate it if someone could explain the process to me.

I realize this is pretty basic. I am a good cook but my computer skills leave a little be desired!!!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: time machine: old mac to new mac. how to?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: time machine: old mac to new mac. how to?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Clarification Request
What is "everything"?