Desktops forum

General discussion

Time for a new PC, desktop or laptop?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / November 18, 2011 7:42 AM PST
Question:

Time for a new PC, desktop or laptop?

It is time to replace my 7-and-a-half year old desktop PC, which is running XP. It has been having some weird hardware issues recently, like crashing (blue screen of death) every time I close my CD tray. I just don't have the expertise to figure out what's wrong, nor do I think it worth the investment to have a professional look into it.

My question is this: Is there any clear advantage to replacing it with a desktop instead of laptop? What are the advantages to having a laptop versus a desktop or vice versa? I'm a part-time college instructor (retired from my real job) and am not into gaming, so I don't require a lot of horsepower, but I do work with several applications open simultaneously. Thank you.

-Submitted by John H.

Here are some member answers to get you started, but
please read all the advice and suggestions that our
members have contributed to this question.

It's a Matter of Choice or Rather The Right Fit For You - Submitted by: ajtrek
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5233636.html

Desktop vs. Laptop- Submitted by: thomasterrible
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5233436.html

It depends on your needs/wishes - Submitted by: Dysalot
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5233318.html

There are pros and cons on both fronts...- Submitted by: Wolfie2k5
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5233347.html

Laptop vs. Desktop - Submitted by: High Desert Charlie
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5233370.html

Thanks to all who contributed!

If you have any additional advice for John, click the "reply" link below and submit away. With any advice given, please be as detailed as possible in your submission. Thanks!
Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Time for a new PC, desktop or laptop?