Computer Newbies forum

Think I killed my HDD ... Can anything be done?

by AJD77 / February 12, 2013 9:55 AM PST

First post, total newbie.

Made a forehead-slapping rookie mistake: I plugged in the Molex power connector upside down to the HDD in my old HP desktop.

Yes I had to force it a bit, and even that didn't tip me off that something might not be right! So, anyway I go to power on & boot up, and I get error messages telling me it can't read/detect/whatever the HDD. It was working just fine before. (Long story why I was messing with it to begin with.)

HERE'S MY QUESTION: does the logic board (?) for the drive have a fuse or some kind of protection for this kind of thing, so that when some dummy plugs it in wrong it won't totally fry the whole thing? I'm wondering if buying an external enclosure would allow me to still access the disk contents (yes, there is stuff I want to get off it).

Well, thanks for any help you can offer. Hope there might be some good news for me!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Think I killed my HDD ... Can anything be done?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Think I killed my HDD ... Can anything be done?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.