Mac Hardware forum

General discussion

the college Mac... imac vs. macbookpro

by speakfree89 / June 12, 2007 12:28 PM PDT

SO i've come to the point in my life where I need to decide what computer i'll be using for the next four years (and beyond) of college. i'm looking for your help on deciding which apple product to purchase.

first of all, i don't want a pc, so don't even bother trying to change my mind. you can't beat a mac right now, especially sicne i can end up with a free printer and ipod along with a superior computer.

secondly, i'm not an engineering, graphic design, or artistic major. i'll be double majoring sociology and environmental science, with an emphasis on law and practical application.

third, i love music, and movies, but DO NOT play games. i was hoping for this to be my main source of entertainment, used as a stereo, tv/dvd player, as well as my computer.

i'll be dorming in college, coming home probably once every month-two months as well as on breaks/summer.

i was considering the 24" iMac and the 15" MacBook Pro. they are comparable in price, and many specs. i'm just looking for what is best. obviously watching movies will be infinitely better on that screen. but carrying that thing home won't be nearly as easy.

how often will i be using a computer in class? i don't plan on taking notes with it (im a paper and pen kinda guy). the library offers many sources online, and i can always check books out and work in the peace and privacy of my own dorm. i'm not sure when i'll be outside using a computer.. or in coffeehouses/cafes/etc. but hey, i guess ya never know.

so what would work bets for me? obviously, im in love with Apple. is the laptop worth it? or should i stick to an imac, suffer the 27 lb weight when driving home, and not be able to move outside my room with it (easily) yet have an amazing viewing experience...

or get the laptop?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: the college Mac... imac vs. macbookpro