Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

The ANNOYING "Update" pop-ups from installed software Help

by vgny85 / April 14, 2008 3:56 AM PDT

Hi -- Every time I boot up each of my 4 Dell PCs - two XP, two Vista - I get a pop-up from McAfee letting me know my subscription expired. I want the reminders to stop. I also get update reminders from Microsoft (of course), and lately from Java too (Who needs a Java update? -- I'm not a programmer.) Can someone give me advice on how to stop these annoying reminders - they slow down the boot process.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: The ANNOYING "Update" pop-ups from installed software Help
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: The ANNOYING "Update" pop-ups from installed software Help
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Update Reminders Fixes
by Grif Thomas Forum moderator / April 14, 2008 4:40 AM PDT