Mac OS forum

General discussion

syncing machines

by Wimm7 / September 19, 2010 3:55 AM PDT

I have a MBP 2.16 ghz core2duo leopard 10.5.8, which I use mainly for schoolwork(I'm a teacher), recently I bought an Imac G5(tiger10.4) so I would have more space on my desk, I tried to move files etc. over to the iMac (firewire) and found out that newer software does not transfer to an older version and I ordered an install DVD to put leopard on the iMac, can I use the migration option to get files over to the iMac after the leopard install or do I have to update leopard first to get it at the same level as my MBP?

Thanks for your help

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: syncing machines
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: syncing machines
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Your iMac G5 will never be on the same level as the MBP.
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / September 19, 2010 7:16 AM PDT
In reply to: syncing machines