TVs & Home Theaters

General discussion

Sony Home Theater Problem: Protect mode keeps coming on

by voodoodoodoo / August 5, 2007 3:04 PM PDT

I got a Sony HT-DDW670 Home Theater in a Box system a while ago via Ebay. The sound is good, but we keep having a problem when trying to watch movies. Often, the dialogue seems much quieter than the music and other efx, so we turn up the sound to hear it. But then if there's a loud part, the sound goes off and the unit flashes "Protect", then turns itself off.

We don't have the sound up particularly high -- maybe 40-50. Yet it will continually do this. Could this be a problem with some of the speaker wiring? And, in general, do others have this problem where dialogue is much quieter than music? Perhaps there's some setting that I've missed.

Forgive me, I'm a relative newbie with home theater...

thanks!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Sony Home Theater Problem: Protect mode keeps coming on
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Sony Home Theater Problem: Protect mode keeps coming on
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.