TVs & Home Theaters forum

Software to stream from PC to TV?

by Smolderbox8 / March 24, 2012 6:34 AM PDT

Hello - I'm a novice with computing who's seeking wisdom from his betters.

I recently purchased a Philips flatscreen TV (model #40PFL4706). The TV is internet enabled, with both built-in apps (like Netflix) and the ability to let me stream video or photos directly from my PC. The problem is that the software that allows the PC-to-TV streaming (MediaConnect) overloads my PC's processor. This probably isn't surprising; apparently MediaConnect is a hefty program, and my PC is a pretty basic machine. I'm wondering if there is any other way to stream video from my PC to my TV? Particularly, is there another program that will facilitate this (esp. any freeware)? Many thanks.

PC is a Compaq Presaio CQ60 running Windows Vista Home Basic:
single Intel processor
2.16 GHz2GB RAM
32-bit OS

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Software to stream from PC to TV?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Software to stream from PC to TV?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.