Mac Hardware

Question

SMTP (offline)

by breakfastdave / January 1, 2013 5:03 PM PST

I'm new to a MAC and loved the simple way it allowed me to set up my e-mail accounts.

However there is one account it insists on placing the SMTP offline and I can't seem to to turn it ONline ...which is a pain cos it's my main account

I've tried deleting the account and starting again and editing the SMTP server list but to no avail ...
Any suggestions welcome...

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: SMTP (offline)
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: SMTP (offline)
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
Are you 110% positive that you have all the
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / January 1, 2013 8:58 PM PST
In reply to: SMTP (offline)

names entered correctly?

Who is your provider?

P

Collapse -
SMTP (offline)
by breakfastdave / January 1, 2013 9:15 PM PST

P
All the fields are entered correctly