Computer Help forum

General discussion

Size of image doesn't fit monitor screen. Help!

by Tanchan / November 3, 2004 9:22 AM PST

I've just completely wiped the hard disc and installed windows xp professional on my computer. But now the screen image seems to come up to small and no longer fills the whole monitor screen. It leaves large black margins above and on either side. Can anyone help me on how to fix this?

Also, would it be related to a box which keeps popping up which says

NEW MODE
HF: 31.5 KHZ
VF: 60 Hz

???

I am fairly new to IT and to this site, so just warning you that I won't understand many technical words.

I hope someone can offer some solutions. Thanks in advance.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Size of image doesn't fit monitor screen. Help!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Size of image doesn't fit monitor screen. Help!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: Size of image doesn't fit monitor screen. /my guess