Computer Help forum

General discussion

Should I go with a 32bit or 64bit computer system?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / June 20, 2008 6:06 AM PDT
Question:
Hi! I hope you can help me out. I'm in the process of buying a new computer and it's already pretty difficult to figure out what's what with specs and all, but the two bit (pun intended) is figuring out the differences between 32bit versus 64bit processors. I can only assume the 64bit processor is faster, or am I wrong? I'm not very tech savvy, but I would like to know if it's something I need to consider when making my new system purchase. The other one bit (pun intended again) has to do with Windows Vista, do I go 32bit or 64bit version? Are there any advantages of going with Vista 64bit? Please help me out, I'm really confused here and I would love if you could give some simple explanations to clear up this whole bit between the processor and Vista. One more thing, will buying a 64bit PC be somewhat future proofing my new desktop purchase? Thank you all for your help!

Submitted by: Jack W.

Here are some answers from our members to get you started, but please read through all the submission within this discussion thread for more helpful advice and information.

New Computer --Submitted by Zouch
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=298600&messageID=2796684#2796684

32 vs. 64 bit... --Submitted by Wolfie2k5
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=298600&messageID=2796150#2796150

32-bit vs. 64-bit Processors --Submitted by Watzman
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=298600&messageID=2796094#2796094

I run 64 bit XP --Submitted by pixelsmith
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=298600&messageID=2796501#2796501