Camcorders forum

General discussion

Shopping for Camcorder for high-quality audio recordings

by innerkip / June 20, 2009 6:21 AM PDT

I have no experience with camcorders and am looking to purchase one to record classical piano recitals. The camera will usually be mounted on a tripod and given minimal attention during recording.

I already have two external mics (Br

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Shopping for Camcorder for high-quality audio recordings
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Shopping for Camcorder for high-quality audio recordings
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
In my opinion...
by boya84 / June 20, 2009 10:52 AM PDT

Presuming the lighting is decent during the recitals then a Canon HV40. If we can have no such assurance, then a camcorder with larger lenses and imaging chips. You have found the standard def models (Canon XL2, Panasonic AG-DVX100, and Sony DSR 250).