Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Search function not working at all in XP

by nahcjason32 / December 7, 2006 5:45 AM PST

For some time now I have not been able to use my Windows XP Search function. It doesn't even start up, from either of the two spots I use it. The first is by clicking the Start Menu, and clicking Search; the second is by right clicking My Computer and clicking Search. Both do nothing when clicked (at all, not even an hour glass or anything). It's almost as if teh executable for the function has disappeared. I have been pulling my hair out for a couple months now. I have searched many forums and have tried the fixes such as registry keys; running (regsvr32 C:\WINDOWS\srchasst\srchui.dll); running sfc /scannow; kellys-korner help pages; etc..

So far nothing has worked and the only thing I have not yet tried was re-installing teh whole OS. I would like to avoid this if anyone can give me some direction or input.

Thanks again

JAY

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Search function not working at all in XP
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Search function not working at all in XP
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.