Samsung

General discussion

Samsung TV won't turn on

by boomfist / November 28, 2008 12:40 AM PST

We recently got a tv from our neighboor who complained that it wouldn't turn on. We got it, plugged it in, and it seemed to work fine. After about a day we noticed the mentioned problem. We thought it might be a bad power button so we got a new remote. That didn't work either. The problem was initially that the tv wouldn't turn on at the first try, it would take several, now it won't turn on at all remote or button. When we try the tv will make a power up noise on occasion and the power light will either flicker or stay lit in between attempts. On a side note we left it in the on position and tried shaking it a bit(stupid I know) and surprisingly it turned on for a second with sound and picture before turning off again. Any help would be great, I'm not afraid to get inside it and replace parts, I have some experience with electronics.
Its a Samsung Dyna Flat Pro
Model # TXN3245FP

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Samsung TV won't turn on
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Samsung TV won't turn on
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.