Samsung

General discussion

Samsung TV with DLNA how to guide...converting MKV files

by tampamark / January 12, 2010 4:06 AM PST

I have seen a lot of information online about the limitations of the Samsung TV and the PC Share Manager. It is very true. I have been working on perfecting my DLNA network for a couple of months and finally have some tips to share. I tested a bunch of file types but not all in the video converter program. I am only reporting what I have found. The best thing to do is if you have a file, try to play it before going through the conversion, you may get lucky.

My System:
Samsung LN52B750 lcd tv with hardwire Ethernet jack
Serviio DLNA program on PC (freeware)
VideoLan VLC PLayer (freeware)
*note: I dumped PC Share for Serviio instead, I tried tversity and did not have much luck with it either.

I have some HD movies on my PC that I wanted to play on the TV. Unfortunately, even though they are 1080p, they were created in a 1920 x 800 resolution. I determined this by playing the file in VLC Player and going to TOOLS/CODEC INFORMATION. The TV does not like this resolution and will tell you it is not a supported file type. It also was an MKV file so I don't think it liked that either. What I found is:

1. convert the file to 1920 x 1080, this is a supported resolution
2. during this same conversion process use the x264 Codec

I tried 3 different conversion programs, two of them that were a free trial but would cost $30 to $40 for a license. I figured those would be the best and worked with them for a while. There were problems with the audio lagging from the video by 1 second after conversion, or inability to select the audio track (english vs. german, etc.). The program that did the trick is a freeware - Any Video Converter http://www.any-video-converter.com/products/for_video_free/. It does a great job, matter of fact it was the only one that did the job correctly at all.