Samsung forum

Alert

Samsung Blu Ray BD-F5900 wireless problem

by pepe_vasquez / June 11, 2013 3:17 AM PDT

I just bought this blu-ray player at best buy and have found a problem connecting to my wireless router, the problem is that even though the player was seeing both bands (2.4Ghz and 5Ghz) and it was initially connecting to either band after I entered the password, it was disconnecting from the router after about 10 seconds.

My router is a Linksys EA4500 N900, all the configuration is the default one, meaning nothing advanced was added or changed in the configuration. ALL other artifacts in my house (laptops, PCs, tablets, phones, even an old Samsung Bluray player) connect just fine and keep connected to the router, so it is safe to say that this is an issue with the new blu-ray player.

The default configuration for both bands in my router is:
Network Mode: Mixed
Security Mode: WPA2/WPA Mixed Personal
Channel Width: Auto
Channel: Auto

Now I started playing with these 4 settings on the 5GHz band to see if the Blu ray finally keeps connected and found out that the player ONLY keeps connected to the router if the Network Mode is set to "Wireless-A Only", which forces the Channel Width to "20 MHz Only"

I have tried all sort of combinations and the player just disconnects from the router after about 10-20 seconds it connects. Only "Wireless-A Only" keeps it connected.

Now, I forgot to mention that before I bought this player, I bought a Samsung Blu Ray BD-F7500 and had the same issue, so I returned it and got this one instead.

Does anyone had the same issue?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Samsung Blu Ray BD-F5900 wireless problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates