Spyware, Viruses, & Security

General discussion

Restoring a Cryptainer drive if hard disk or computer fails?

by doowopper / December 18, 2006 5:42 AM PST

I am a newbie regarding the use of Cryptainer. I am using Cryptainer ME in a Windows XP Professional computer.
1) Could please tell me the necessary steps to restore my Cryptainer drive, if my hard drive or my computer fails and one or the other has to be replaced, so I can gain access to my encrypted files currently located in a Crytpainer file in C:\Windows\system32. I have a backup of that Cryptainer file (drive) on an external hard drive. I checked the help file of Cryptainer, but I couldn't find information about restoring the Cryptainer drive if my hard drive or computer fails. Perhaps it is there and I missed it.
2) Does the backup of my encrypted Cryptainer file (drive), also contain its password, so it could be opened on another computer that also is running Cryptainer by using the password?
Thanks.
Richard

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Restoring a Cryptainer drive if hard disk or computer fails?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Restoring a Cryptainer drive if hard disk or computer fails?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.