Computer Help forum

General discussion

Remove unnecessary/duplicate files and free hard disk space?

by j_enrikez / September 20, 2006 12:25 PM PDT

I have a Sony Vaio Laptop with a 70gb hard drive running windows xp home edition service pack 2. Somehow I have used over 40gb of my drive space, and I can not figure out what is taking up so much space as I am a novice user at best i.e. no extremely large programs, no large music, video or picture collections are stored. I used Cnet's recommended System Mechanic 6 Pro to search for duplicate files and found "6,759 duplicate files, 11.53GB)Being a novice user I am afraid to delete files since they could be system files, or cause me to lose needed information. Can anyone help me figure out WHY there are 6,759 "duplicate files" on my computer, how they got there so I can avoid this in the future, and how do I clean up my system?????

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Remove unnecessary/duplicate files and free hard disk space?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Remove unnecessary/duplicate files and free hard disk space?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.