Laptops forum

Recommend: Laptop for Site Engineer?

by timhcross / April 14, 2013 9:27 PM PDT

Hi forum,

I am a site engineer in Africa so have a rather odd set of requirements for my new laptop, any help would be great.
My requirements are:
600GB min Harddisk size
i5 or i7 or 3GHz Processor
15in screen
Num pad seperate on keyboard
Windows 7 + (not apple)
decent battery (>4hrs, length of a usual power cut)
2 x 3.0 USB, 1x 2.0 USB (4th would be better)
Runs Photoshop/ AutoCAD/ Solidworks fast. (6GB RAM perhaps?)

Tough to rough use and climate (working in dusty/sandy conditions and must survive bumpy transit)

My preference are:
Non reflective screen for outside use.
super reliable
around $750-1500
fingerprint sensor

My least important:

Any help welcome.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Recommend: Laptop for Site Engineer?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Recommend: Laptop for Site Engineer?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.