Laptops forum

General discussion

Recently bought laptop running slowly

by tobymcgrail / September 11, 2011 1:20 PM PDT

The laptop is an Asus X53E (3GB RAM, Intel i5 Processor) running on Windows 7.
I bought it two days ago and at first it was running fine but now it's taken a sharp downturn. I looked at the task manager performance tab and it seems that even when I haven't got any programmes opened the 'Physical Memory Usage' is being strained and there is no free memory.
Since getting the laptop I've downloaded/installed quite a few programmes but no more than I had on any desktop before (Firefox, Chrome, Skype, Football Manager 2011, AVG, Counter Strike: Source, Spotify) and I don't see why it is running so slowly to do simple tasks such as opening 'My Computer'.
How can I reduce the amount of Physical Memory being used? (I'm a computer newbie)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Recently bought laptop running slowly
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Recently bought laptop running slowly
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.