Computer Newbies forum

Question

Rebuilding a Computer?? Total Newbie!

by Aliceandria / February 5, 2013 1:24 AM PST

Hi there!

I've recently gotten interested in rebuilding a computer.. (For gaming....) I have an old PC, but want to rebuild since there is something wrong with the hard drive, or memory, I'm not sure which..

I've never built my own computer before, but love doing things like this.

What do I do?! Where is a good place too start? Can I reuse parts from my old computer? I absolutely loved the monitor.. I just don't know how to tweak the tower? (I'm so new to this I don't even know what to ask!)

Here is the info for my old computer:
Compaq Presario PC
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 4800 dual core processor
Memory: 3 GB
Hard Drive: 320 GB
Optical Drive: DVD/CD burner with LightScribe Technology
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE Graphics

WINDOWS VISTA

And then I just have a staples LCD monitor...

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Rebuilding a Computer?? Total Newbie!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Rebuilding a Computer?? Total Newbie!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.