Computer Help

General discussion

Random Shutdowns

by JimmyMoragn / February 11, 2008 8:31 AM PST

This is my first time requesting help on a computer forum before because I have usually been able to find the answer somewhere, but this problem is just baffeling me.

For about the past month my computer has been randomly shutting down (Not restarting).

Here is my System. All of these parts were put in about 8 months ago:

Motherboard : BFG680i SLi LGA 775

Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3

VideoCard: BFG Tech Geforce 7600

Power Supply: 500w

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4 GHZ LGA 775 65W

The Case. Cd rom. DVDr Drive are all about 2 years older then the new parts.

I will try and save you a long story. Here is a list of what I have done so far.

I have ran multiple virus scanners and found nothing . Hijack this also did not find much.

When I made a few fixes with Hijack this the computer would not let me start it up . At this point I pulled each part of the computer out one by one seeing if the computer would boot up without it in. This way I would have an idea of the culprit. When I pulled the video card out the computer finally would boot up. I ran the computer for about 4 hrs without the card, and it never shutdown. When I pulled it out the computer would only cycle through a reoccuring reboot. I finally fixed this by clearing the CMOS which then let me boot up with the video card in. After about 2 hrs of being up, it shut down again. I have since cleaned the videocard out (It was dirty but not to the point of this being a reason for failure).

Then I ran programs to test the motherboard, and psu, and everything has passed.

While running the test I loaded the computer with everything I could think of doing. Opened Photoshop,Excel,Dreamweaver,Surf while downloading, etc all at the same time. I could not overheat the psu, or get the computer to fail. Nothing