Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

printing to remote printer from other locations via internet

by a_mad_scotsman / February 9, 2005 5:06 AM PST

I'm a student, and a lot of printing that I do doesn't need to be collected straight away - lecture notes etc.

I was wondering if it's possible to set up my laptop so that I could print to my printer at home, via the internet, while I'm at university (printing costs at uni are high)

I've got an always on broadband connection, Linksys router and my printer is connected to it by means of a printserver (attached to the printer, not a dedicated printserver PC)

Although my broadband connection has a dynamic IP address, this tends to stay the same for several months on end, due to the router being connected to the modem, and I could probably persuade my ISP to change it to a static IP address.

Any suggestions MUCH appreciated.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: printing to remote printer from other locations via internet
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: printing to remote printer from other locations via internet
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.