Computer Newbies forum

Question

Power Outage Killed PC

by Juspink000 / December 21, 2012 7:06 PM PST

Hi. First, I'm no pc expert but I'm not afraid to tamper! Now, the power went out in 2 counties & the pc won't come back on. I have a green solid light beneath the power cord on the back. I tried unhooking everything from the motherboard and all the drives, even took out memory. Nothing changed. Socket works & also tried a different cord. Is it my mobo? Google thinks the power supply is ok because of the steady light. No fans, no beeps, nothing happens when I click to turn it on. Any other suggestions before I purchase a new pc??? It is an HP Slimline 3700 using Vista.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Power Outage Killed PC
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Power Outage Killed PC
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
Did you try the old reset?