Forum Announcement

Welcome to the new CNET Forums! Please don't panic. You are not in the Twilight Zone, you are experiencing the new CNET forums platform! Please click here to read the details. Thanks!!

Laptops

General discussion

portable external(seagate freeagent goflex 1tb)or internal?

by jenniferdnoob / September 28, 2010 3:55 AM PDT

Hi everyone,
I'm a bit of a noob but have been doing some research but have yet to find a nice solid answer to my question so I'm hoping I can get some help on here Happy

I have a 5yr old laptop that came stock w/100gb hard drive.
Sony vaio vgn-fj170
I've recently upgraded the memory to 2gb ram.

Anyway,I never used the laptop much,but now need to install photoshop,autocad,sketch-up,revit,and bentley.theses programs especially revit takes up a lot of space so I want to upgrade to min. 750gb hard drive. So my question is:
Can I install those programs on the seagate freeagent goflex 1tb and run the programs from the seagate hard drive? I'm assuming ill need some virtualization hardware(vmware)? And connect via usb3 for faster data retrieval for the programs to run?
Or do I just get a 750gb internal hard drive?
Are there certain pros and cons to the 2 options? Please note,that I wouldn't mind carrying around an external drive cuz ill mostly use it @ home anyway. I just want to know which hard drive external or internal will run more efficiently w/o problems.
Thanks in advance everyone. Any comments,suggestions are greatly appreciated Happy

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: portable external(seagate freeagent goflex 1tb)or internal?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates