Camcorders forum

General discussion

Panasonic's VideoCam Suite s/w problems - what's the latest?

by elf.elf.baby / October 18, 2008 11:31 AM PDT

I was all set to buy a Panasonic SDR-H60, (see my pre-record question, pah-lease) and then found all these posts about the horrors of the software. As a programmer, I figure either it's user error or a completely irresponsible manufacturer, one beyond belief. The only similar example I have ever seen was when eBay forced everyone to switch from TurboLister 1 to 2.
Anyway, is this still the software from hell? It hasn't been updated since May of 2007, apparently, which would give one pause.
If I were planning to only use SD cards, couldn't I just take them out of the camera, put them in my laptop and/or desktop's SD reader, and move them manually? I actually have no interest in the HDD. Has anyone done this?
Thank you.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Panasonic's VideoCam Suite s/w problems - what's the latest?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Panasonic's VideoCam Suite s/w problems - what's the latest?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.