Windows 7 forum

General discussion

Opening DOS applications full-screen under Windows 7

by kasdp / July 6, 2009 11:09 PM PDT

At the risk of being tagged a Luddite, as a writer I still prefer to use DOS-based Xywrite for raw word-processing. XP permitted me to open this full screen with an "Alt/Enter" combination, but Vista permits only a relatively small window. I've tried installing XP to a partition, to no avail, so remain somewhat frustrated. Bottom line: will the "virtual XP" element of Windows 7 permit me to open DOS-based programs full-screen? Thanks in advance for whatever advice is offered.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Opening DOS applications full-screen under Windows 7
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Opening DOS applications full-screen under Windows 7
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Yes, it will...
by John.Wilkinson / July 6, 2009 11:32 PM PDT