Mac Hardware forum

General discussion

no desktop icons after logging in....

by pauole / June 20, 2009 1:46 PM PDT

I have an ibook g4 that was given to me...after logging in it comes up with a blue screen with designs I believe standard for the wallpaper. But there are no icons or anytype of menu. Ive moved the mouse around and clicked to see if it was hidden but to no avail nothing happened, also i put a cd in and it didn't play... i am new to the mac arena and need all the help i can get...

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: no desktop icons after logging in....
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: no desktop icons after logging in....
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Your iBook G4 did not boot correctly,
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / June 20, 2009 10:14 PM PDT

in that the boot sequence was not completed.

The usual fix is to shut it down and reboot.