Cameras forum

General discussion

Nikon D90 vs Nikon D7000-what makes more sense?

by PKBeee / March 8, 2011 3:13 AM PST

First - thanks to all who are taking time to help. Keeping it short and simple: I'd like a DSLR that I can grow with. I'm new to DSLR and will primarily use the camera for portraits, family photos, weddings, events, and some landscape. I'll probably never be a professional in this lifetime, but I'll work my hardest to get there. I know lenses are essential to a great photo - recommendations on some affordable lenses for portraits would be great, as well.

D90 is very popular amongst my friends, but D7000 has amazing reviews for the 'experienced' DSLR user. I will need to put the camera in auto mode for the first month or so as I learn to use it - is buying a D7000 a waste in that case? I have a feeling I may outgrow the D90, but is the body THAT important?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Nikon D90 vs Nikon D7000-what makes more sense?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Nikon D90 vs Nikon D7000-what makes more sense?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.