Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Newbie's shouldn't jump to Firefox Browser

by skyace / February 17, 2005 11:59 PM PST

I've been using the Firefox browser for over two months. I've been computing since the Vic20 and on the web using one of the first versions of Netscape. So many good things have been written about Firefox, I feel it's my duty to warn newbie's .. be careful about hurrying to use the Firefox browser.

I could detail the reasons for my recommendation, However here it is a brief explanation: I like many features as well as the philosophy behind the Firefox browser.. but some of the bugs, design quirks I have encountered would be difficult for new computer people to deal with. Some of the issues I faced since using it, caused me to come close to shelving it. If you know what Bugzilla is downloaded it. If you can't describe the word browser to your friends, stay away. I know we should all keep in mind Microsoft's domination of the industry... but I.Expl. works well! Remain aware about the other Browsers. Internet Explorer and Firefox are not alone. In fact Google, another dominant player, may well be offering a Firefox type browser in a few months. You will also become aware there are other Operating Systems as well. Windows is not the only game in town.

Therefore in time, those of you who end up fairly good at computers, have a duty to explore the meaning of all new offerings such as Firefox, Linux etc. Developers working day and night to compete, need our help! It's sort of our duty to try other op. systems and different software. Just make sure your ready. Thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Newbie's shouldn't jump to Firefox Browser
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates