Mac OS forum

General discussion

Need Techi Advice:Imac vs Mac Pro without spendingmany $$

by frelizdow / March 21, 2009 6:51 AM PDT

I need a Mac to do video editing, audio and video streaming as a leisure time activity. I am not a Pro and so I don't want to spend too much on this.
Should I go for a high end Imac or a low end Mac Pro?.

Which of them will last me longer without having to buy a new one?

I want something that I will not have to throw away within 5 years.
I need assistance so that I can purchase asap.

Fred
fredldowuona@yahoo.com

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need Techi Advice:Imac vs Mac Pro without spendingmany $$
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need Techi Advice:Imac vs Mac Pro without spendingmany $$
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Then no laptop.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / March 21, 2009 6:58 AM PDT

Laptops tend to be 3 to 5 year devices. In this case, the iMac.