Computer Help forum

Need some diagnosis help

by phoenixxdreams / December 4, 2012 8:11 AM PST

Hello all, this is my first time posting on the forums here. And its unfortunate that it has to be for some question that there is probably an easy answer to, but my web searches have not brought up anything so far that will help.

I have a self built system running Win7 Pro 64 bit and for the first couple months everything on it was running fine, but starting in about June, it looked like my memory was going bad. By this, I mean, all my applications, including Google Chrome would go dead. In chrome, I would get the "He's dead, Jim" screen. So I thought perhaps my memory was going bad, or maybe I was running out of virtual memory. I ran memtest86 (nothing unusual popped up on an 8 hr test), I allocated more virtual memory and for 2 weeks it worked fine. Then it started messing up again. I decided to wipe my hard drive clean, re-install windows and all my drivers, and I doubled my RAM. Now, the problem has been occurring again, along with another problem.

1) My computer still randomly closes all my applications and shuts itself down.

2) On start-up I would get a message "Access violation in module..." which apparently has to do with having a Biostar motherboard and I went into MSconfig and diabled that option for now.

So overall, I just want to know, what could be causing this problem, and how could I fix it. I know several people will want me to check temperatures, so a link to a free download of a reliable one would be greatly appreciated

Here are the specs of my computer:
BiostarA780L3B Motherboard
AMD Athlon II x2 255 3.1GHz 2MB Cache Processor
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1066 1.5v RAM
1TB WD Caviar Green 7200RPM HDD
EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti Video Card
500W Antec Powersupply (recently replaced)

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need some diagnosis help