Laptops forum

General discussion

Need notebook with minimum features for Web surfing

by amnot / August 26, 2006 2:41 PM PDT

I'm not experienced with notebook comparisons at all and am a bit lost for knowing what I should be shopping for in a used notebook computer to be used primarily, if not exclusively, for web surfing.

(Being a stereotypical Type "A", I want to use a notebook to surf while sitting in my easy chair and simultaneously watching TV...don't want to miss anything, ya know...ha!!)

Saving on purchase expense is a primary concern of course, but not the only factor. Outside of wanting the best screen picture quality and resolution I can find, I am seeking to learn what minimum system requirements I should have to utilize a cable modem connection that I use currently for my desktop computer.

If anyone can suggest what features would be essential for net surfing (wireless modem connection would fall under "essential"), I would appreciate hearing from you. If you think you know any specific brands or models you would recommend if you were going to make the same purchase, that would be greatly appreciated also.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need notebook with minimum features for Web surfing
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need notebook with minimum features for Web surfing