Mac Applications forum

Question

Need Help with iMovie and Panasonic HDC-TM90

by mpisani / January 2, 2013 3:45 AM PST

First off - I'm a newbie at this. I saw an older post where someone was having trouble getting movies from their Panasonic HDC-TM90 to iMovie. I'm in the same boat. I've had the HDC-TM90 since last year and just filled up the 32Gb card so now I need to transfer the movies to my Mac. I have iMovie08 but am willing to upgrade to iMovie11 if I need to.

One of my main reasons for picking this camcorder was to get HD movies that are crisp and sharp. Is there a noticeable difference if I choose iFrame as my recording format as opposed to the 1080/60p I'm using now?

What I took away from the older post was that I needed to convert the movies (using ClipWrap) in AIC and then they would be accepted by iMovie. So correct me anywhere along the way but to keep the high quality of the 1080/60p I've recorded in, I need to purchase ClipWrap (unless there's something else) and take the entire AVCHD foler and drag it into the software where I can pick and choose what I want to convert. And when prompted I should choose AIC mode so the movies are compatable with iMovie. Am I on the right track?

Would this work for iMovie08 or do I need to upgrade to iMovie11? The movies are not going to be half speed or anything - right?

Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need Help with iMovie and Panasonic HDC-TM90
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates