Audio & Video Software forum

General discussion

Need help w/ Zi8 movie file encoding & editin

by bizarrotm / October 16, 2009 6:17 AM PDT

Just got the Zi8 camera which is great and all, but the 'editing' software that ships with it is too basic. The files save to the camera as .mov.

The problem is, I have a PC, and so imovie's not an option which is probably the easiest to use w/ that file format.

I'm looking for some resource or advice on how to edit these files and string them together. I have downloaded DivX and windows movie maker live, but I can't figure out how to change the encoding using DivX (I was led to believe mm could do it automatically if I had DivX on my machine, but can't figure out how to connect them.

Awesome camera has now resulted in nothing but hours of frustration as I'm not an engineer by trade. Any help would be appreciated.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need help w/ Zi8 movie file encoding & editin
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need help w/ Zi8 movie file encoding & editin
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.