Storage forum

Question

NAS Media Streaming With Plex

by Tsiek13 / April 13, 2013 4:00 PM PDT

So I am kinda new with the whole idea of NAS and I am in need of some help. Basically what I have been wanting to do for a while now is buy a NAS device that can stream my media........ iTunes, Videos (lots of different file types, and some that include separate subtitle files that I normally play in VLC Media Player), pictures, etc. I would also like to be able to install a program like Plex on the NAS to allow it to stream to a box like Roku, and other laptops and TVs around the house. I mainly want to do this to avoid having to use my Macbook as a server. If there are any other programs that are capable of applying the metadata and streaming like Plex that someone could inform me on that would be helpful. I do not need a top of the line NAS, seeing as my media library is under 2 TB. Finding out what my specific NAS has to be capable of would also be a big help. I am aware I could just use a Mac Mini for my needs, but I would prefer not to buy it used, and that makes it a little bit out of my price range. Any help or advice at all would be greatly appreciated!

PS: sorry if this is not exactly the right thread, I tried looking for a more specific one.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: NAS Media Streaming With Plex
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.