PC Hardware forum

General discussion

my power supply overheated and burned I think, HELP!

by electtech / April 3, 2006 10:21 AM PDT

I'm running a custom made pc by a friend of mine runnig aAthalon and I recently added more memory, making it 700 mg. It has a 30 g HD and dvd burner, cd burner, floppy drive. I don't really know too much about computers, I'm a novice, though good at taking things apart and putting them back together. I installed the cd burner myself and everything seemed to work fine for a while.

2 days ago, I smelled a burning smell, and it turned out it came from the power supply. I opened up the system to look at the PSU and it looks like part of it is darked (charred). I'm assuming I need a new power supply. Can anyone make a suggestion as to why this happened and what kind of PSU I can get in the future to avoid this from happening again? Is it ok to buy one on ebay like this one "Blue OKIA 600w Dual Fan ATX Silent Power Supply *NEW*"? HELP!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: my power supply overheated and burned I think, HELP!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: my power supply overheated and burned I think, HELP!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.