Computer Newbies

General discussion

My DVD Burner won't read DVD's but it will read CD-R's

by noisykids / April 27, 2005 5:40 PM PDT

I have an LG 12xSuper Multi DVD Rewriter and run Windows Me. I have been using it sucessfully for the last 6 months to burn DVD's. Today when I tried to use it to burn a DVD it informed me that there was no disk in the drive - there definitely was a disk in the drive. I thought maybe there was something wrong with the DVD so I tried a few others but got the same message. The drive doesn't seem to have a problem reading CD-R's. I have tried re-installing the software but that doesn't help. I have also tried using a CD/LD Laser Lens Cleaner and that hasn't helped either. My guess is that the DVD Rewriter is cactus but I just want to make sure that I haven't overlooked anything basic before I send it away for repairs (since it's still under warranty.

noisykids

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: My DVD Burner won't read DVD's but it will read CD-R's
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: My DVD Burner won't read DVD's but it will read CD-R's
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.