Windows Vista forum

General discussion

My computer is quite slow. Do I need to upgrade?

by geebiesmommy / December 1, 2012 7:00 AM PST

Hi all. I have a Dell Inspiron 1420 with an Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7100 1.8 GHZ processor and 2GB Ram. I also have another 2GB back up drive and a USB HardDrive that is huge (not sure how to tell what that GB is). I'm sorry I am pretty new to computers and teaching myself :). The computer was purchased new from Dell in late 2007. It runs Windows Vista. It has been really slow for a long time. I ran the CCleaner (not the registered, just free). I haven't found other cleaners to fix the speed issue so I didn't upgrade, but will if that would help (?). I have read some of these threads and it was running 91 background programs. I have turned it off to where it is now only running the MS programs. All others in Services and Start up are unchecked. So it says it is now running 50 processes. I don't know if it helps but it says that it is using 30-45% CPU Usage and Physical Memory is 87%. The computer is faster than it was, but still quite slow turning on, off and moving from program to program. What else can I do to speed up this old girl? Or should I just upgrade? I upload a lot of videos, photos, etc and need it to be in optimum performance but do not have a lot of funds right now to put into the computer or purchase of another one.

Lastly, I am upgrading my virus protection right now. I am hoping this helps some what.

Thanks so much to anyone that can help me work through this :).

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: My computer is quite slow. Do I need to upgrade?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates