Cameras forum

General discussion

Megazoom vs DSLR photo quality

by Gregor56 / October 7, 2009 2:06 AM PDT

I'm very new to the hobby and purchased the Panasonic fz-28 megazoom a few months ago and have loved it. It does a little bit of everything which is perfect for what I like. I've liked it so much, however, that I'm tempted to step up to the next level. I'll have an extremely tight budget so my options will be limited to an entry level or maybe low end mid level SLR. Learning curve aside, how much of a bump in image quality(over the softer images from my Panasonic) can I expect if I go for something like the Nikon D3000 or the Canon XSi with the kit lense?

Thanks

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Megazoom vs DSLR photo quality
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Megazoom vs DSLR photo quality
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
alot will depend on the photographer