as it did not really emulate the real bounce system.
I'm sure you have seen Bounce messages come back to you just moments after you sent and email, well it is useless sending a manual bounce message minutes, or hours, after the email has been through the system.
that and the fact that it is possible to see that the email did get delivered to the correct destination.

As for the deleting, this is normal behavior. Delete something from the list and the rest of the list moves up to take its place.
If you do not want emails to open, then just shut down the the Preview pane by double-clicking on the divider between the list and the open email. The cursor will change when you are in the correct position and you will see a prompt to double click. To bring it back again, just click on the right hand margin