Computer Newbies

Question

Mac vs PC for photo editing

by eelj1974 / December 19, 2012 1:02 AM PST

So I'm not new to computers, but I'm newish to photo editing. In other words I understand some technical jargon. I'm going to be doing more editing and manipulating with my photography. I'm an amateur photographer, but I may try to sell a few photos in the future. I like iPhoto for very basic stuff. But I'm thinking of using Photoshop or Lightroom. So my question is: Are Mac's really better for photo editing than a PC? I've used PC's in the past as I've played around with photo editing for my own use. But before I go and dump the large sum on a Mac I want to make sure it's worth it. Or if I'd be able to find a good PC in the sub $900 range for my use.
My other uses for the computer will be internet surfing, video streaming, emailing, and listening to music. Thanks.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Mac vs PC for photo editing
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Mac vs PC for photo editing
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.