MacBooks forum

General discussion

Mac @ Apple Store or Best Buy?

by saeinsocal / March 5, 2011 7:03 AM PST

I have a question, and I seem to keep going back and forth on it. I want to buy a MacBook. I am a teacher, so if I go to the Apple Store, I get about $100 off the price. Also, I can get Apple Care at the Apple Store. If I go to Best Buy, I don't get the $100 discount, but I get 18 months same-as-cash. At Best Buy there is no Apple Care, but I can buy the Geek Squad protection. Now I am wondering, is there something I am missing? Is there a benefit to one or the other that would tip the scales?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Mac @ Apple Store or Best Buy?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Mac @ Apple Store or Best Buy?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Even if you buy
by Jimmy Greystone / March 5, 2011 7:30 AM PST