Computer Newbies forum

Losing Disc Space Fast For No Reason?

by Snog14 / August 23, 2011 11:30 AM PDT

I have a compaq desktop that runs on Windows XP & lately the disc space on my (c:) drive has been deteriorating rapidly I download quite a lot & delete older files when I need more space almost daily. What Should I do to stop this ( please detail EVERY step I'm not good with comps when it comes to the system based aspects). Also can I still run my comp with no disc space? Will my comp crash? Is it possible that I could lose all my files? Please Help.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Losing Disc Space Fast For No Reason?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Losing Disc Space Fast For No Reason?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
About losing your files.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / August 23, 2011 11:34 AM PDT

We would only lose what we don't backup.