Forum Announcement

Welcome to the new CNET Forums! Please don't panic. You are not in the Twilight Zone, you are experiencing the new CNET forums platform! Please click here to read the details. Thanks!!

PC Hardware

General discussion

Logitech Cordless Optical Mouse can't move

by moss8299 / November 25, 2005 11:59 AM PST

good day, i'm a newbie here with a problem.

i have a computer with a logitech cordless optical mouse (USB to PS/2 connector was used ). recently it just stopped working while i was surfing. thinking that the battery was flat, i had replaced the batteries with fresh ones. however, it still did not solve my problem.

then i disconnected it from my pc and plugged my old mouse to the ps/2 port. nothing happened either. the cursor still froze at the center of the screen.

after that, i connected the logitech cordless optical mouse into one of my USB ports. voila! my windows has deteced a new hardware and instructed me to click the buttons on the transceiver and the mouse to establish a connection. however, the cursor still refuse to budge!

as of now, the mouse's sotware pop-ups whenever i press the button on the transceiver. but no movement of the cursor was detected.

a check at device manager reveals that i have a logitech HID compliant cordless mouse connected but no sign of my old PS/2 mouse which is still plugged in.

i would be grateful if anyone could give me some advice to solve my problem, my system is as follows:

Windows XP (service pack 2) running on a Pentium 4 2.8GHz Processor (1GB DDR RAM) an intel mobo (not sure wat's the model) a cd burner and built-in sound and graphics.

p/s : i did not install any software prior the problem occured.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Logitech Cordless Optical Mouse can't move
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.