Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

Learning pure html vs using dreamweaver

by superakuma / January 29, 2011 3:30 PM PST

I am a photographer and I am frustrated that I can't customize my page the way that I like it so I decided to take some classes at the local college.

Right now I am enrolled in two classes, one called Web Publishing and the other one called Web site Development. I realized that they are the same class doing the same thing but the Web Publishing class is doing it without dreamweaver, basically using notepad to write the code.

Now I know NOTHING about coding, I don't plan to be a webmaster or anything like that. I just want to understand some of the basics so when I watch a tutorial, I can understand what they are saying.

When I asked my teacher this same question, he said I would have a better understanding if I take both of the classes. His analogy was it is like learning math. With the html class, I am doing it by hand while the 2nd class I am learning math with a calculator.

So my question is, with a program like dreamweaver that makes everything so easy, is it worth taking a class on html without using dreamweaver?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Learning pure html vs using dreamweaver
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Learning pure html vs using dreamweaver