Computer Newbies forum

Issues with MSN"s

by noabody / May 22, 2013 6:25 AM PDT

I've been using MSN's e-mail for 12+ years as Now they switch to Outlook, and I'm not sure if it's something I've done, or if it's Outlook. I always thought that Outlook was praised for their security, so maybe it was me. I've been very careful over the years about malicious programs out there, some I learned first hand. OK, here's the "stupid me" part. I'm too old to be playing video games, but I can't help it. So, after playing for a couple weeks, I decide to see if there are any cheats/hacks out there. Now, I'm not sure exactly when my Outlook problem started because I don't check my e-mail every day, but it seems like it started about the same time as my snooping for hacks. When I try to log into, I get the red "X" over my padlock (I use Chrome), and the site name changes to, and my computer warns me that I'm headed in the wrong direction, so I back out of it. Outlook seems to be the only program affected though. Anyways, I've been going back through my files from the "cheats" day in question, and deleting everything that shouldn't be there. I think I've got almost everything outta there, but I was reading the ol' "Registry Cleaner" thread, and thought I'd ask if this may be a good time to use one, or if I should just leave it alone. That was a long story to get to such a small question!! Sorry 'bout that. Oh, and I'm running Windows 7 and have Kaspersky Anti-Virus (for years) and it seems like its kept me alive so far.... Ummm, yep I'm done.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Issues with MSN"s
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates